Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Kalani
Contributor

New Job + Overwhelmed

Hey everyone, I hope u are all well! To give u some context I am currently studying at uni and have a casual job.  I have found myself for the last few days dreading work and getting really anxious about it. I don't know why. It is a good job and I don't mind the kind of work it is. The staff are all really welcoming and nice, and the pay is good. Yet I still get really anxious about work and find myself hoping my shifts get cancelled for some reason. It's annoying because I should be grateful and excited to have a stable job which provides shifts. It is just really frustrating. 

I feel like my mental health is taking over my life at the moment. Every little action or task leaves me riddled with anxiety. Every minute of the day at the moment I am consumed by thoughts. I just feel so alone. So trapped. It doesn't matter how many times I talk to people on helplines like kidshelpline. I am still stuck in the same place. Where nobody close to me really knows whats going on. I want help but at the same time I feel like I don't deserve help. I feel like mental health professionals won't believe me. I feel like I am never going to get help, that I am always going to be stuck in this horrible mindset.