Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Ame96
Casual Contributor

Hi all, I'm new and not sure if this is the right place to post but oh well.

Ive had a very traumatic childhood involving domestic violence and I've now got depression, anxiety and ptsd due to that. I guess I'm just wondering if there is anyone else that has been through dv and still get flashbacks, or still do things now that you had to do before? Eg- I had to ask if I could eat or if I wanted to sit down etc and even though it's been years, I still feel like I have to ask my partner if I can eat or sit next to him, still apologise if I get bad vibes or if he places a plate on the table too hard…

sorry, like I said, I'm new to this so I'm not sure if this is where or how I start a convo

14 REPLIES 14
Isabelle
Senior Contributor

Re: Newbie

Hi @Ame96 ,

Welcome to the forum, and thanks for posting a little bit of your experiences.