Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Silverlinin
Casual Contributor

I've been mocked and bullied by my TAFE Teacher

I'm currently studying IT at TAFE New South Wales. Previously, I undertook a different IT course under the same teacher. Back then, I was struggling with bouts of mania and depression. Fast forward to now, for reasons I can't justify, the teacher seems to take pleasure in passively mentioning a former student who had manic episodes. The teacher has been openly mocking my every move and word, even exaggerating my actions. I initially tried to ignore it when it happened once, but it has occurred more than five times, and it's really getting on my nerves. He even makes fun of every request for assistance. This behavior is highly unprofessional and immature. It's as if he lacks a filter. I apologise, but I just needed to vent my frustration.

What's even more traumatising is that I reported this to the head teacher, and to my dismay, the head teacher sided with my IT teacher. The head teacher said, "Sometimes teachers make mistakes here and there," and then went on to explain that asking for extensions is no longer permitted, with reasonable adjustments allowed for a maximum of one day. I reminded him that this bullying and mockery has occurred more than five times. He assured me that he takes bullying very seriously and will address the issue with my teacher. However, his actions didn't align with his words, like how he support his colleague, lectured me when I hadn't asked for it, and changed the topic randomly, forcing me to question how it is related.