Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Bafflelaffle
Casual Contributor

Break up

Hi,

This is my first time reaching out in the forum. I'm hoping to find some comfort from people who have gone through something similar.

I've recently gone through a break up after 2 years of being together and forming a bond with her 2 kids. She reached out to me today to tell me to get my stuff that I left at her house and we ended up messaging each other and it turned into a heated argument and she admitted that she has a lot of resentment toward me which showed up in our conversation.

I care so deeply about her and her kids and I feel like I've lost something. The hate she shows towards me hurts, because all I wanted was for us to be civil and work through the hurt, but instead she ended it because she didn't have the time or energy to work on our relationship.

Does anyone have any words of wisdom or comfort or been through something similar? 

Thank you

10 REPLIES 10

Re: Break up

welcome to the SANE Forums @Bafflelaffle I'm sure many, many people can relate to that experience. sorry to hear you're having a tough time and good on you for reaching out.
Crystally
Casual Contributor

Oh gee I feel for you, it's got to be very hard. I'm not sure if I have words of wisdom but I have probably been similar to your partner and broken up with someone, quite often it's not about you it's about her. I look back now and think omg I'm so sorry I was a mess from my own trauma that I didn't handle that situation as good as I could have had I had been in a better frame of mind myself.