Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Hummingbird4
New Contributor

Broken Newbie

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time writing as I sit here crying. My brother has schizophrenia/bipolar and drug dependency issues and has done for many years now. But he has recently had another episode and this time it was aimed at me. I had been looking after him whilst my parents have taken their first holiday together in years! How do I help someone who can’t recognise they need help at the time. We have dealt with psych wards in the past and been to numerous programs. In his mind I have said something that just didn’t happen at all. I have a young son and partner and it’s starting to take its toll. How do I stop the guilt of feeling like I can’t help my brother but also wanting to protect my son from this. I grew up in a household of mental illness and it took its toll on me and I dont want that for my son. Also are there any resources that can help people with mental illness to find some accomodation in more bush locations. My brother is living with my parents in a bungalow but wants to move away from people. Sorry for the long post. 

10 REPLIES 10
Jynx
Peer Support Worker

Re: Broken Newbie

Hi @Hummingbird4  welcome to the forums. I'm one of the moderators, just stopping by to offer some welcome and some support 😊

I am hearing that you feel very torn about supporting your brother vs. the toll it is taking on you and your family. It is a really difficult situation to be in, and one that I imagine many here would find quite familiar.