Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Lostmyself
New Contributor

I don't know what rock bottom looks like but I'm afraid it's not far off

I work as a nurse and am nearly 24 yrs married mum of 4.

I got hurt by a patient my back was extremely painful till they killed the nerves. Since injury I had an ulcer that had me having an endoscope where I ended up with stomach acid in my lung I then coded and died was revived. Then ended up house bound with a crazy lung infection then finally got pain sorted with nerve block and had seizures from pain medication. Now I can't drive for 6 months. 

I'm back at work on light duties and short hours but it's making my depression worse. 

I've been told I'm not to teach new nurse stuff when I'm the person who trains everyone. 

My family say how proud of me they are that I keep going trying to get better with my back. Yet all I want to do is drop this baggage and tell someone else take it for a while. I want to sleep but at night I toss and turn. Finding positives daily as per psychologist isn't working the medication I'm on doesn't feel like it's working anymore. 

I don't know where I'm at or how to dig myself out of the rubble. I want to but I don't have the strength I used to be known for or am expected to have. 

7 REPLIES 7

Re: I don't know what rock bottom looks like but I'm afraid it's not far off

hi @Lostmyself and welcome
you've been through so much! you've shown great strength in reaching out for support and sharing your story here.

If you feel like your medication isn't working, I would suggest speaking to a psychiatrist and seeing if they could help you. do you think youd be up for this?