Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Thy
Casual Contributor

Thyroid and mood swings

Hi there,

I had papillary thyroid cancer when I was younger, a total thyroidectomoy and now have hypothyroidism and hypoparathyroidisim.  16 years on and I am still learning about what happens to my mental health when I am over or under suppressed or if my calcium is too high or too low - usually when things go wrong both of these issues are out of whack.  

My mood is very rude to deal with, my work colleagues struggle, my young kids make excuses for me and because I am in it, it takes me a while to work out that I am metabolically unbalanced.  It’s not something that people can visibly see when something is wrong, so it’s difficult for them not to reconcile that it’s not just me being a complete bitch.

It also drives me mad that the medical profession thinks thyroid disease is easy to fix - why do they think a synthetic pill can completely replace a major hormone in the body?  There is definitely a link between brain function and thyroid and calcium, although not one clinician told me that at the time of diagnosis and treatment - I have had to learn the hard way.

I do genuinely feel jibbed - would I have chosen a different treatment path had I’d known my mental health would end up like this???

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Thyroid and mood swings

Whoa Thy New Contributor,

it is so good to hear someone talk about this!

I am a 51 year old woman who is hypothyroid with Hashimotos. I have also been diagnosed with Bipolar II. I struggle with what I have recognised as an 81 day cycle due to my bipolar which is a fascinating number - love to know what that is all about..