Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

seraphiel
New Contributor

Not coping

Hi,

This is my first post to the forum. Just feeling like I'm struggling to keep my head above water so to speak and don't know what to do anymore or how to best help myself. Was hoping someone might have some good advice since I'm out of ideas and I don't have the brain power or energy right now to see my way out of this.

I'm in my final year of medical school and dealing with exams, job applications, being away from family and friends for years on end now, financial stress, huge work stresses, struggling at school and coping with long term depression and anxiety. 

I've stared having panic attacks over the smallest things, can't sleep to the point of getting about 3-4 hours of sleep a night and having nightmares every night, my brain feels like its turned to jelly and I can't concentrate on anything, I feel shaky and exhausted all the time and have a near constant tension headache and muscle aches and pains.

I'm coming up to my final exams in 2 months and desperately need to keep my self together so I can study and pass my exams, and get through job interviews. The thought of being away from family and home for another year if I don't pass is too much to bear. 

If anyone has any pearls of wisdom they'd like to share I'd be beyond grateful.

7 REPLIES 7
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: Not coping

Hi @seraphiel

I am Arie, one of the moderators on the forums. Firstly, welcome to the forums, I hope that you will find these forums to be supportive.