Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Scarecrowe
Senior Contributor

Every day is a struggle

Hello.  

I am new to this forum so wanted to introduce myself.

I am 48 years young, never married, no children.  Been single since 1993.

During year 9 at high school, something snapped in my mind and ever since I have had trouble dealing with people, leaving the house, sleeping properly at night.  Which is a real pain since I work in retail.  The odd thing is I am really good at putting on a brave face and acting like I am happy and confident, which is retrospect I am the complete opposite.  Ironic since I was really bad at drama at school.  

I even tried community radio for a few years hoping it would help but one day whilst I was putting a show together I freaked out and had a mini panic attack.  That was the end of radio for me.  

I have been on anti depressants but they never made me feel any different.  When I am home alone is when I am the happiest and calmest.  When I leave the house I am constantly stressed and just want to get back home.  Fun....not!!!!!

I have never spoken about this to my family as they would just tell me it is all my fault and make me feel worse than what I all ready do.  I have told a few friends about this but not in great detail, just the mere basics.  

I came across this website when I saw it advertised on the TV and thought I would check it out and saw a forum about not liking Christmas.  When I read other people's feelings on the day and realised they were like mine, I suddenly realised that maybe I am not alone and there are people out there that can understand where I am coming from and that I am not strange in the way I feel about life.