Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Rainbow-Dash
Contributor

Bipolar 1 husband hyper-religious

Hi there.

This is my first time posting & I’m hoping to reach others who might be in a similar situation to myself. My husband was diagnosed with Bipolar 1 disorder, he’s had 2 major episodes with psychotic features, characterised by strong religious delusions. It was extremely confronting to see the person you love behaving so uncharacteristic, devastating too be honest, not too mention fearing for your own safety as you witness your loved one sink into an abyss of paranoia. The experience left me in a high state of anxiety for months afterwards. The last major episode saw a stint in an overseas jail, an involuntary hospitalisation & myself needing to urgently travel overseas to his aid & bring him safely home upon stabilisation.